Principal's Advisory Board

Ngā Pūmanawa e Waru is working in a collaborative way with over 40 Rotorua schools. Their focus is around the development of eLearning plans. There is a comprehensive support team in place to assist them in the areas of community engagement, technical support, leadership and pedagogy. A research programme runs alongside all of the work, led by John Gifford in association with Helen Timperley and Lorna Earle from the University of Auckland. The generosity of the NEXT foundation has made all this possible.


The work that NPeW does in schools is endorsed by a Principal’s Advisory Board (PAB). A range of Rotorua schools are represented on the PAB. 


The PAB is working actively with the NPeW organisation to achieve the established vision. This work has brought our schools together and indeed the Rotorua school community. The level of collaboration among schools is leading not only to a clearer view of learning from years 0 to 13 but also a community wide appreciation of how teaching and learning can be a 24/7 experience for our young people.


We want our young people to each have their own device, have connectivity both at school and at home so that their learning is enhanced but this ability to share and collaborate and access the Internet to enhance and support the valuable learning relationship these young people have with their teachers and schools. It is also hoped that this integration of technology in learning will enable strong whānau and family engagement in the learning process. In this way we expect achievement outcomes will improve and young people will be better prepared for their exciting futures in our rapidly changing world. This is an exciting time and our Rotorua community has a wonderful opportunity through NPeW to create a point of difference that is the envy of other New Zealand Communities.


Principal’s Advisory Board:

  1. Chris Grinter, Rotorua Boys’ High School  

  2. Briar Stewart, Rotokawa Primary School             

  3. Ally Gibbons, Rotorua Girls’ High School

  4. David MacMillan, St Mary’s Catholic School

  5. Garry de Thierry, Rotorua Intermediate School

  6. Linda Woon, Otonga Road School

  7. Patricia McGee, Lake Rerewhakaaitu School